The following congressional committees have primary jurisdiction over legislation pertinent to healthcare and health privacy policy.

Appropriations Committee
Budget Committee
Commerce, Science and Transportation
Finance Committee
Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs Committee
Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP)
Judiciary Committee

Appropriations Committee
Budget Committee
Education and Workforce Committee
Energy and Commerce Committee
Homeland Security Committee
Judiciary Committee
Ways and Means Committee

Additionally, the Congressional Bipartisan Privacy Caucus was formed to educate Members of Congress and their staff on matters of individual privacy, to provide a forum for the discussion of these issues, and to serve as a legislative advocate for personal privacy matters.  The Congressional Privacy Caucus is co-chaired by Representative Joe Barton (R-TX) and Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO).

The National Governor’s Association Center for Best Practices maintains an HIT Privacy Division with resources and information about progress in the field, including a technical report for state legislators and a  toolkit with suggestions for dealing with overlapping state privacy laws. NGA has released a comprehensive road map for states to improve interoperability: Getting the Right Information to the Right Health Care Providers at the Right Time: A Road Map for States to Improve Health Information Flow Between Providers.